16th Annual Hedge Fund Industry Awards June 28, 2018 • New York City


Institutional Investor magazine's 16th Annual Hedge Fund Industry Awards recognizes the hedge funds, funds of hedge funds, investment consultants, endowments, foundations, corporate funds, public funds, sovereign funds and rising stars that stood out for their performance innovation, achievements and contributions to the industry in the past year.


Award nominees will be honored and winners announced and awarded at a dinner and ceremony at the Mandarin Oriental in New York City on Thursday, June 28, 2018. Last year's event hosted more than 450 industry leaders.


We hope you'll be a part of this year's night of networking and celebration!







Sovereign Wealth Fund of the Year

Alaska Permanent Fund Corp.

China Investment Corporation (CIC)

Government of Singapore Investment Corp. (GIC)

Korea Investment Corporation (KIC)

Qatar Investment Authority

The Abu Dhabi Investment Authority (ADIA)


Hedge Fund Consultant of the Year

Jim Vos, Aksia

John Claisse, Albourne Partners

Michael Larsen, Cambridge Associates

Stephen Nesbitt, Cliffwater

Gregory Dowling, Fund Evaluation Group


Corporate Plan of the Year

Boeing Co.

IBM Corp.

Michelin Group

Raytheon Co.

Western Union Co.


Endowment of the Year

The J. Paul Getty Trust

Northwestern University

Penn State Office of Investment Management

Texas Tech University System

University of Texas Investment Management Co. (UTIMCO)


Foundation of the Year

Alfred P. Sloan Foundation

Carnegie Hall Foundation

Jewish Foundation of Greater Toronto

The Kresge Foundation

MacArthur Foundation


Health Care System of the Year

Ascension Investment Management

Children's Health (Dallas)

Children's Hospitals and Clinics of Minnesota

Cleveland Clinic

Hartford HealthCare


Insurance Investor of the Year

Axis Capital

Farmers Insurance


Nationwide Mutual Insurance Co.


Public Plan of the Year, Large

Massachusetts Pension Reserves Investment Management Board

State of Wisconsin Investment Board

Texas Municipal Retirement System

Utah Retirement Systems


Public Plan of the Year, Small

Employees' Retirement System of Rhode Island

Fire & Police Pension Association of Colorado

Maine Public Employees Retirement System

Orange County Employees Retirement System







Institutional Hedge Fund Manager of the Year

Canyon Partners


Millennium Management

TCI Fund Management

Third Point


Emerging Hedge Fund Manager of the Year

EcoR1 Capital

Lunia Capital

Melvin Capital Management

SQN Investors

Suvretta Capital Management


Large Fund-of-Hedge-Funds Manager of the Year

Blackstone Group

Franklin Templeton Investments

Morgan Stanley Investment Management


Rock Creek Group


Boutique Fund-of-Hedge-Funds Manager of the Year

Gapstow Capital Partners

Greenlight Masters

Ironwood Capital Management

Morgan Creek Capital Management

Silver Creek Capital Management


Outsourced CIO of the Year

Cambridge Associates

Goldman Sachs Asset Management

HighVista Strategies

Partners Capital

Perella Weinberg Partners


Hedge Fund GP Investor of the Year

Blackstone Group

Dyal Capital Partners

Reservoir Capital Group

Paloma Partners

Schonfeld Strategic Advisors


Equity-Focused Hedge Fund Manager of the Year

Coatue Management

Impala Asset Management

Light Street Capital

Perceptive Advisors

Tiger Global Management


Credit-Focused Hedge Fund Manager of the Year

Chatham Asset Management

Marathon Asset Management

Napier Park Global Capital

MidOcean Credit Partners

Silver Point Capital


Hybrid Hedge Fund Manager of the Year

Cerberus Capital Management

Drawbridge Special Opportunities Funds

Valiant Capital Management

Viking Global Opportunities

Vivo Capital


Multistrategy Hedge Fund Manager of the Year

Canyon Partners


The D. E. Shaw Group

Elliott Management Corp.

Millennium Management


Relative-Value Hedge Fund Manager of the Year

Citadel Global Fixed Income Fund

One William Street Capital Management

Paloma Partners

Pimco Tactical Opportunities Fund

Waterfall Asset Management


Activist Hedge Fund Manager of the Year

Marcato Capital Management

Starboard Value

TCI Fund Management

Toscafund Asset Management

ValueAct Capital Management


Event-Driven Hedge Fund Manager of the Year

Elliott Management

Gates Capital Management

Owl Creek Asset Management

P. Schoenfeld Asset Management

Strategic Value Partners


Macro Hedge Fund Manager of the Year

Element Capital Management

Emso Asset Management

Haidar Capital Management

Massar Capital Management

Pharo Management


Quantitative Hedge Fund Manager of the Year

The D. E. Shaw Group

Man AHL Evolution

PDT Partners

Renaissance Technologies

Two Sigma







Manager Lifetime Achievement Award

M. Elaine Crocker

President, Moore Capital Management

View Coverage


Allocator Lifetime Achievement Award

David Villa

Chief Investment Officer, State of Wisconsin Investment Board

View Coverage







Angela Aldrich

Teca Partners

Steven Boyd

Armistice Capital

Sarah Carne

Future Fund Management Agency (Australia)

Charmaine Chin

K2 Advisors

Lawrence Cinamon


Julie Hong Clayton

TPG Capital

Jesse Cohn

Elliott Management

Lucy DeStefano

Soros Fund Management

Andy Frank

Fortress Investment Group

Jamil French

Rainmaker Securities

Ryan Israel

Pershing Square Capital Management

Lauren Jacobson

Columbia Investment Management Company

Brian Jandrucko

The Church Pension Fund

Jay Kahn

Light Street Capital

Ela Karahasanoglu

Investment Management Corporation of Ontario (IMCO)

Jane Kim

Canyon Partners

Woodrow Levin

3.0 Capital

Amish Mehta

SQN Investors

Darrel Pfeifauf

Summit Strategies Group

Li Ran

Half Sky Capital

David Rosen

Rubric Capital Management

Josh Segal

Paloma Partners

Sheetal Sharma

Tourbillon Capital Partners

Ed Shim

Teachers' Retirement System of the State of Illinois

Noah Snyder

Incline Global

Jamie Sterne

Skye Global Management

Jet Theriac

Lanternback Capital

Justin Udelhofen

Durant Partners

Keith Weiner

Suvretta Capital Management

Chris Winiarz

Lakeview Capital Management



Institutional Investor begins the voting process with a public call for nominations; the editorial staff concurrently develops a list of candidates based on its knowledge of the firms and institutions, as well as on discussions with its wide network of industry sources. The staff then vets each of the nominations, as well as its internally generated candidates, based on how strongly it believes the candidates meet a wide range of criteria for their respective categories. The staff puts particular emphasis on performance over the past three years, with special consideration given to the most recent year. Once the nominees are publicly announced, the magazine group then conducts a wide survey of U.S. institutional investors and invites them to vote for the manager nominees. Hedge fund managers are also invited to vote for the investor nominees. Institutional Investor's editorial staff analyzes the results of the voting to determine the winners, which are announced at the annual awards dinner and ceremony.


Voting on the finalists will be open from May 7–18, 2018. If you would like to request a ballot, please email: hedgefundawards@institutionalinvestor.com.

Request sponsorship information
Request sponsorship information
16th Annual Hedge Fund Industry Awards June 28, 2018 • New York City

16th Annual Hedge Fund Industry Awards June 28, 2018 • New York City
16th Annual Hedge Fund Industry Awards June 28, 2018 • New York City
16th Annual Hedge Fund Industry Awards June 28, 2018 • New York City