Institutional Investor's 10th Anniversary Hedge Fund Industry Awards - Thursday, June 21, 2012 * Mandarin Oriental, New York City | Cocktail Reception, Dinner & Awards Ceremony
2012 Hedge Fund Leadership Council
Institutional Investor magazine's 10th Anniversary Hedge Fund Industry Awards recognized the hedge funds, funds of hedge funds, investment consultants, endowments, foundations, family offices, corporate funds and public funds that stood for their innovation, achievements and contributions to the industry in 2011.

Award nominees were honored and winners announced and awarded at a dinner and ceremony at the Mandarin Oriental in New York City on Thursday, June 21, 2012. We hope you'll be a part of next year's night of networking and celebration!


Lifetime Achievement
Award Recipient:

Israel Englander
Chairman and CEO,
Millennium Management

Outstanding Achievement
Award Recipient:

Ashbel Williams
Executive Director and CIO, Florida State Board of Administration


  • Large Public Plan of the Year
  • Ohio Public Employees
    Retirement System
  • Pennsylvania Public School Employees' Retirement System
  • Teacher Retirement
    System of Texas
  • University of California
    Retirement System - WINNER
  • Small Public Plan of the Year
  • Missouri State Employees' Retirement System
  • Rhode Island State Investment Commission
  • West Virginia Investment Management Board - WINNER
  • Wyoming Retirement System
  • Large Corporate Plan
    of the Year
  • Dow Chemical Co.
  • GE Asset Management
  • Lockheed Martin Investment Management Co. - WINNER
  • Verizon Investment
    Management Corp.
  • Small Corporate Plan
    of the Year
  • Alcoa - WINNER
  • Eastman Kodak Co.
  • McKinsey & Co.
  • Michelin North America
  • Large Not For Profit
    of the Year
  • J. Paul Getty Trust
  • University of Pennsylvania - WINNER
  • Texas Treasury
    Safekeeping Trust Co.
  • Small Not For Profit
    of the Year
  • Hearst Foundation
  • Mount Sinai Medical Center - WINNER
  • UJA-Federation
  • Wake Forest University
  • Family Office of the Year
  • Huizenga Capital Management - WINNER
  • Karlin Asset Management
  • Meritage Group
  • Mousse Partners
  • Hedge Fund Consultant
    of the Year
  • Frank Barbarino, Senior Consultant, NEPC
  • Bruce Ruehl, Head of Americas Advisory, Aksia
  • John Shearman, Senior Consultant, Albourne America - WINNER
  • Jacob Walthour, Managing Director, Cliffwater


  • Institutional Hedge Fund
    of the Year
  • BlackRock
  • Brevan Howard Asset Management
  • Bridgewater Associates - WINNER
  • Capula Investment Management
  • D. E. Shaw & Co.
  • Emerging Hedge Fund
    of the Year
  • Axonic Capital
  • Kepos Capital - WINNER
  • PAMLI Capital Management
  • Sensato Investors
  • Soroban Capital Partners
  • Large Fund of Hedge Funds
    of the Year
  • Blackstone Alternative Asset Management - WINNER
  • Goldman Sachs Hedge Fund Strategies
  • J.P. Morgan Alternative Asset Management
  • Morgan Stanley Alternative Investment Partners
  • Permal Group
  • Small Fund of Hedge Funds
    of the Year
  • Gapstow Capital Partners
  • Gorelick Brothers Capital
  • Hermes BPK Partners
  • Lyrical Partners
  • Magnitude Capital - WINNER
  • Early Stage Hedge Fund
    Investor of the Year
  • Blackstone Alternative Asset Management
  • FRM Capital Advisors
  • Pacific Alternative Asset Management Co.
  • Paloma Partners Management Co.
  • Protégé Partners - WINNER
  • Equity-Focused Hedge Fund
    of the Year
  • Kynikos Associates
  • Renaissance Technologies Corp.
  • SAC Capital Advisors
  • Tiger Global Management - WINNER
  • Viking Global Investors
  • Credit-Focused Hedge Fund
    of the Year
  • BlueMountain Capital Management
  • Fortress Investment Group - WINNER
  • Perella Weinberg Partners
  • Saba Capital Management
  • Silver Point Capital
  • Hybrid Hedge Fund
    of the Year
  • Atalaya Capital Management
  • Centerbridge Partners - WINNER
  • Crosslink Capital
  • Fortress Investment Group
  • Strategic Value Partners
  • Macro-Focused Hedge Fund
    of the Year
  • AQR Capital Management
  • Bridgewater Associates
  • D. E. Shaw & Co. - WINNER
  • OxFORD Asset Management
  • Red Kite Management
  • Managed Futures Hedge Fund
    of the Year
  • BlueCrest Capital Management - WINNER
  • Campbell & Company
  • Capital Fund Management
  • Renaissance Technologies Corp.
  • Winton Capital Management
  • Multistrategy Hedge Fund
    of the Year
  • Citadel
  • Elliott Management Corp.
  • Hudson Bay Capital Management
  • Millennium Management - WINNER
  • QVT Financial
  • Relative Value Hedge Fund
    of the Year
  • Barnegat Fund Management
  • Black River Asset Management
  • Capula Investment Management
  • Pine River Capital Management - WINNER
  • Structured Portfolio Management
  • Event-Driven Hedge Fund
    of the Year
  • Greenlight Capital
  • Jana Partners
  • Pershing Square Capital Management
  • ValueAct Capital Management
  • VR Capital Group - WINNER

For the full list click here.

Click here for last year's winners

The awards dinner was held in conjunction with the 11th Annual Hedge Fund Leadership Council, June 20-21, 2012, Union League Club, New York City.

For information on sponsoring or attending next year's awards, please contact:
Lynn Quealy, +44 20 7303 1744, or
Barbara Baumbusch, 212-224-3845, or
Tracey Redmond, 212-224-3239,

Investors and consultants were invited to attend the awards dinner as guests of awards sponsors. For more information or to confirm your attendance for next year's awards, please contact:
Karan Sampson, 212-224-3613,

Please direct questions regarding the nomination and award selection process to

© Institutional Investor | Institutional Investor Magazine | Terms & Conditions | Privacy Policy